Clear Procedure
Issue 3 April 2006 51
Then the 4601 flashes both Message Waiting indicators 500 milliseconds on, 500
milliseconds off to indicate an entry is expected.
For all IP telephones except the 4601, if a value different from the current value of
NVCHADDR is entered, the following text displays left-justified at the top of the display:
3. Press the * button to terminate the procedure, or the # button to save the new value. If you
press the # button, all IP telephones except the 4601 display the following text:
All phones save the new value.
Clear Procedure
Sometimes, you might want to remove all administered values, user-specified data, and option
settings. Essentially, you want to return a telephone to its initial “clean slate” condition.
This is usually done when passing a telephone to a new, dedicated user when the user’s
L O G O F F option is not sufficient. For example, a new user is assigned the same extension,
but requires different permissions than the previous user.
The C L E A R option erases all administered data—static programming, file server and call
server programming, and user settings including Speed Dial button labels and locally
programmed Feature button labels, and restores all such data to default values. The C L E A R
option does not affect the software load itself. If you have upgraded the telephone, the
telephone retains the latest software. Once you have cleared a telephone, you can administer it
normally.
!
CAUTION:
CAUTION: This procedure erases all administered data, without any possibility of recovering
the data.
Use the following procedure to clear the telephone of its administrative, user-assigned and
options values.
1. While the telephone is on-hook and idle, press the following sequence of keys on the
faceplate of the telephone:
Mute 2 5 3 2 7 # (Mute C L E A R #)
Save new value?
*=no #=yes
New value being saved