- 10 -
Security and privacy
Network security
Do not use the app on an unsecured Wi-Fi network. We advise you to use
the baby monitor only on a Wi-Fi network protected with WPA2 or higher
encryption. With the app, you can also use your phone's data network
(often referred to as 4G or 5G).
Wi-Fi hotspots in public places, such as airports and hotels, are
convenient, but they are often not secure.
We advise you to use the baby monitor only on a Wi-Fi network protected
with WPA2 or higher encryption� We advise you not to use the baby
monitor on a network that uses WEP encryption�
Note: Wi-Fi networks that do not require a password are not secure.
Strong passwords
Passwords are essential to protect your Wi-Fi network and your account
against unauthorised access. The stronger your password, the better
protected your Wi-Fi network and your account is.
The rules for a strong password are:
1 Has at least 8 characters�
2 Does not contain your name, your baby's name, another real name or
a brand name�
3 Does not contain a complete word�
4 Is very dierent from passwords that you have used before.
5 Contains at least 3 out of 4 types of the following characters:
- Uppercase characters (A - Z)
- Lowercase characters (a - z)
- Numeric characters (0 - 9)
- Special characters (e.g., #$%&)
Personal data security
To delete and therefore protect your personal data, factory-reset your
Baby Unit by long pressing the On/O button for 10 seconds when the
Baby Unit is on, before discarding the device. It is strongly advised to
disconnect the Baby Unit from the Philips Avent Baby Monitor+ app by
selecting ''Disconnect Baby Monitor'' option in the Baby Unit settings of
the app�
If you are a second-hand owner, we advise you to perform the following
steps to factory-reset your Baby Unit to secure your device:
1 Turn on your Baby Unit�
2 Once the LED has changed from orange to green or white, press the
On/O button for more than 10 seconds until the LED ashes between
green and orange, and the Baby Unit will factory-reset.
In case you do not perform the factory-reset, Philips will not
be responsible for the performance and functionalities of the device,
and your privacy might be compromised�