49
PRIMERGY TX200 S3 User’s Guide
2
Checking before OS Installation
• Number of disk units
If the number of actually installed units is smaller than the setting for the number of units (+1 when a
hot spare is specified), installation using ServerStart is aborted because of an error.
When the number of installed disk units is greater than the setting, the disk units are set up according
to the setting. Extra units will be configured as standby disk units.
2.3.3 Notes on a Multiple LAN Adapter Configuration
Using the OS installation wizard of ServerStart, you can configure multiple LAN adapters (network
adapters) on the system. However, there are the following limitations.
z Adapter Numbers
To configure multiple LAN cards, select the adapter numbers in order of Adapter 1 and Adapter 2, and
enter settings for each adapter. Note that the order of adapter numbers is not necessarily the same as the
order of slots for the installed LAN adapters. This means that the setting for Adapter 1 is not always
applied to the onboard LAN. After installing the OS, check the LAN adapters to make sure that they are
configured as intended.
2.3.4 Cautions for Using ServerStart
Operating ServerStart
Most ServerStart operations are performed with the mouse. Items may not be moved with the [Tab] key
or cursor keys. Be sure to use the mouse when operating ServerStart.
Ejecting the CD-ROM
Do not eject the ServerStart CD-ROM while ServerStart is running. If the ServerStart CD-ROM is
ejected and inserted again, ServerStart starts up in multiple windows, and settings you have made can be
lost.
ServerStart CD-ROM
ServerStart supplied with the server is two-CD set (Disc 1 and Disc 2).
Disc 1 is used to create the configuration file and install the OS.
Disc 2 is used when you are requested to insert it during installation.
Switching the Mode
When opening the configuration file and inputting information in the installation fields in the wizard, do
not switch any other mode by manipulating the tree or by any other means (e.g. do not start up the
Windows 2000 Server guided mode during Windows Server 2003 guided mode operation).
Before switching the mode while inputting information, you must save the configuration file. If you do
not save the configuration file, clicking [Cancel] will delete any changes that have been made.