EasyManua.ls Logo

THOMSON TG797n - Firewall

THOMSON TG797n
116 pages
Print Icon
To Next Page IconTo Next Page
To Next Page IconTo Next Page
To Previous Page IconTo Previous Page
To Previous Page IconTo Previous Page
Loading...
DMS-CTC-20101208-0018 v1.0
97
Internet Security
10.2 Firewall
Introduction
The Thomson Gateway comes with an integrated firewall that helps you protect your network from attacks
from the Internet. This firewall has a number of predefined levels to allow you to adjusted the firewall to your
needs.
The Firewall is disabled by default. This means that all traffic passing through the Thomson Gateway (from
and to the Internet) is allowed.
Predefined security levels
The Thomson Gateway has a number of predefined security levels. The following levels are available:
BlockAll:
All traffic from and to the Internet is blocked. Game and Application Sharing is not allowed by the
firewall.
Standard:
All outgoing connections are allowed. All incoming connections are blocked, except for inbound
connections assigned to a local host via Game and Application Sharing.
Disabled:
All in- and outgoing traffic is allowed to pass through your Thomson Gateway, including Game and
Application Sharing.
This is the default firewall level.
Changing the security level
Proceed as follows:
1 Browse to the Thomson Gateway GUI.
2 On the Toolbox menu, click Firewall.
3 The Firewall page appears. In the upper-right corner, click Configure.
4 Under Security Settings, select the security level of your choice and click Apply.
Creating your own security level
Proceed as follows:
1 In the Toolbox menu click Firewall.
2 In the Firewall section, go to the Configure page.
3 In the Pick a task list, click Create a new Security Level.
4 In the Name box, type a name for the new security level and select an existing security level to clone
from.
5 Click Apply.
6 A page with the firewall settings of your newly created security level appears. Click Edit.
Although BlockAll will block all connections, some mandatory types of traffic such as DNS will
still be relayed between LAN and WAN by the Thomson Gateway.
Once you create a security level, you can not delete it anymore. It will always available in the
list of available security levels.

Table of Contents