Authentication before the Operating System Loads (Pre-boot)
R81 Harmony Endpoint Server Administration Guide|196
Permission Notes
Maximum
number of failed
logons allowed
before reboot
n
If active, specify the maximum number of failed logons allowed
before a reboot takes place.
n
This setting does not apply to smart cards. Smartcards have their
own thresholds for failed logons.
Verification text
for a successful
logon will be
displayed for
Select to notify the user that the logon has been successful, halting the
boot-up process of the computer for the number of seconds that you
specify in the Seconds field.
Allow hibernation
and crash dumps
Select to allow the client to be put into hibernation and to write memory
dumps. This enables Full Disk Encryption protection when the
computer is in hibernation mode.
Note: hibernation must be enabled in Windows for this option to apply.
All volumes marked for encryption must be encrypted before Full Disk
Encryption permits the computer to hibernate.
Enable TPM two
factor
authentication
(Password &
Dynamic
Tokens)
Select to use the TPM security chip available on many PCs during pre-
boot in conjunction with password authentication or Dynamic Token
authentication. The TPM measures Pre-boot components and
combines this with the configured authentication method to decrypt the
disks. If Pre-boot components are not tampered with, the TPM lets the
system boot. See sk102009 for more details.
Firmware update
friendly TPM
measurements
Disables TPM measurements on Firmware/BIOS level components.
This makes updates of these components easier but reduces the
security gained by the TPM measurements because not all
components used in the boot sequence are measured. If this setting is
enabled on UEFI computers, the Secure Boot setting is included in the
measurement instead of the firmware.
Enable Remote
Help
Select to let users use Remote Help to get users access to their Full
Disk Encryption protected computers if they are locked out.
Remote Help
response length
Configure how many characters are in the Remote Help response that
users must enter.